Framework Laptop 12 (Core Series 3): Release Date, Price and Specs
Framework's Core Series 3 refresh of the Laptop 12 brings Core 3/5/7 chips, Wi-Fi 7, a fingerprint reader and a 70% battery-life claim — here is what it costs and when it ships.

Framework announced a refreshed Framework Laptop 12 on August 18, 2026, moving the modular convertible to Intel Core Series 3 processors and adding, for the first time, a Core 7 configuration alongside Core 3 and Core 5. Pre-orders opened the same day, and Framework's own "Batch 1" is shipping in October 2026 — meaning the first Core Series 3 units are going out right now. The pre-built version with Fedora 44 KDE Plasma starts at $699. Framework's DIY Edition configurator for this Core Series 3 model separately lists system pricing starting at $549 for the base Core 3 304 tier; Framework's announcement post also mentions a $499 DIY figure, but that number is tied to the original, pre-refresh Laptop 12 as a general affordability reference rather than stated explicitly as this new model's price, so it should not be read as the Core Series 3 DIY starting price.
Framework Laptop 12 (Core Series 3) at a glance
- Announced: August 18, 2026; pre-orders opened the same day
- Batch 1 pre-orders: shipping in October 2026
- Pre-built (Fedora 44 KDE Plasma): starts at $699
- DIY Edition configurator: Core 3 304 from $549, Core 5 320 from $779, Core 7 350 from $999 (system only, before RAM/storage/Expansion Cards)
- Processors: Intel Core 3 / Core 5 / Core 7 (Series 3) with Cougar Cove P-cores, Darkmont LP-E cores, Xe3 graphics, built on Intel's 18A process
- Memory: upgradeable DDR5 SO-DIMM, up to 6400 MT/s, up to 64GB
- Storage: up to 2TB modular M.2 2230 NVMe
- Display: 12.2" convertible touchscreen with stylus support, five colorways
- Battery: Framework says early testing with Core 5 320 showed roughly 70% longer Netflix 4K streaming life than the original Core i5-1334U model
What is the Framework Laptop 12 Core Series 3?
The Framework Laptop 12 is Framework's smaller, convertible, touchscreen laptop, built around the same repairable, modular philosophy as the company's Laptop 13 and Laptop 16. The Core Series 3 refresh, detailed on Framework's own announcement post, swaps the original Intel Core i5-1334U for Intel's newer Core Series 3 chips — the same reduced-core-count family used alongside the Core Ultra Series 3 platform in the Framework Laptop 13 Pro. Full specs for this model live on Framework's own Laptop 12 product page. For the first time, Laptop 12 buyers can choose a Core 7 tier, not just Core 3 or Core 5. The chassis, 12.2" convertible touchscreen, stylus support, and five colorways all carry over unchanged from the original model.
Release date and pre-order status
Framework published its Core Series 3 announcement on August 18, 2026, and opened pre-orders that same day. According to Framework, "Batch 1" — the first production run of pre-orders — is shipping in October 2026, which is the current month. That makes this refresh a live, shipping product rather than a future promise: anyone who pre-ordered in Batch 1 should already be receiving units, and Framework's DIY configurator shows Batch 1 as sold out for every Core Series 3 processor tier, with later batches available to order for subsequent shipping windows.
Price: pre-built Fedora vs. DIY Edition
Framework's announcement states plainly that the new pre-built configurations, which come with Fedora 44 KDE Plasma preinstalled, start at $699. That is the clearest, most direct price Framework gives for the Core Series 3 refresh.
Pinning down a DIY Edition starting price is less straightforward. Framework's blog post also references a DIY Edition "starting at $499," but that figure appears in a closing paragraph that frames the original Framework Laptop 12 as a long-standing, affordable entry point into repairable, Linux-friendly computers — it is not explicitly presented as the price of the new Core Series 3 configuration. To get a Core Series 3-specific number, the better source is Framework's own DIY Edition configurator for this exact model, which lists system pricing starting at $549 for the base Core 3 304 processor tier, scaling up to $779 for Core 5 320 and $999 for Core 7 350. Those figures cover the mainboard and processor only; RAM, storage, an input cover, and Expansion Cards are each priced separately when building a complete DIY system. Given that the configurator — rather than the announcement text — is the authoritative, SKU-specific source for this refresh, readers comparing prices should treat $549 (not $499) as the figure tied to Core Series 3 DIY pricing, while noting Framework itself has not stated a single unified "DIY starting price" for this generation as cleanly as it stated the $699 pre-built figure.
| Tier | Processor | Cores | Max clock | DIY system price (configurator) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core 3 | Core 3 304 | 5 cores (1 P-core + 4 LPE) | Up to 4.3GHz | From $549 |
| Core 5 | Core 5 320 | 6 cores (2 P-cores + 4 LPE) | Up to 4.6GHz | From $779 |
| Core 7 | Core 7 350 | 6 cores (2 P-cores + 4 LPE) | Up to 4.8GHz | From $999 |
Core 3, Core 5 and Core 7: what's actually new
The headline change is the processor family. Framework says the Core Series 3 chips in the Laptop 12 use the same Cougar Cove performance cores, Darkmont low-power efficiency cores, and Xe3 graphics architecture found in the pricier Laptop 13 Pro, and that they're built on Intel's 18A manufacturing process — the node Framework credits for the generation's efficiency gains. Framework also notes that for many single-thread-bound workloads, the Core 5 tier in the Laptop 12 performs nearly identically to the Core 5 tier in the Laptop 13 Pro, despite the Laptop 12 being the more affordable, compact machine. The addition of a Core 7 350 option is new for this model line; previously, Core 5 was the top tier available in the Laptop 12.
Battery life: Framework's early testing claim
Framework reports that its own early testing with the Core 5 320 configuration showed roughly a 70% increase in battery life during Netflix 4K streaming compared with the original Laptop 12's Core i5-1334U. This is Framework's own internal testing claim as published in its announcement post, not an independently benchmarked figure, and Framework frames it specifically around a 4K video-streaming workload rather than general battery life across all use cases.
Memory and storage
The Core Series 3 Laptop 12 keeps Framework's upgradeable, modular approach to memory and storage. RAM is standard DDR5 SO-DIMM, upgradeable up to 6400 MT/s and up to 64GB total — buyers select their own capacity and can replace it later rather than being locked to soldered memory. Storage uses the same M.2 2230 NVMe form factor as other Framework laptops, with support for up to 2TB, and the module is user-replaceable rather than fixed to the mainboard. That's a meaningfully different approach from most 12-inch convertibles, which tend to solder memory and limit storage to whatever capacity was selected at purchase. Shoppers deciding how much memory to configure on the DIY Edition — rather than accepting whatever a pre-built tier bundles in — may find our broader RAM guide helpful for sizing a 16GB, 32GB, or 64GB kit to actual usage.
Ports, Expansion Cards and wireless
The Laptop 12 keeps Framework's signature Expansion Card system: four card slots total, with the two rear slots supporting Thunderbolt 4 (useful for external GPUs or driving two 4K 60Hz displays) and the two front slots running USB 3.2 Gen 2. Framework specifies that all four slots support charging input, so power delivery isn't limited to a single dedicated port. Wireless gets an upgrade too: the new model uses Wi-Fi 7 R2 via Intel's BE213 radio, supplied as a replaceable M.2 module rather than a soldered component, continuing Framework's pattern of keeping even wireless hardware swappable.
Fingerprint reader and backlit keyboard
Two features that were previously unavailable or optional are now built in on the higher tiers. A fingerprint reader is integrated into the power button on Core 5 and Core 7 configurations (it is not listed for the base Core 3 tier). A new backlit US English keyboard, built on a reprogrammable controller running open-source ZMK firmware, ships standard on Fedora pre-built Core 5 and Core 7 systems, and is available as an optional add-on for DIY Edition builds across all three processor tiers.
Display, design and colorways
Framework hasn't changed the physical design of the Laptop 12 for this refresh. It remains a 12.2" convertible with a touchscreen and stylus support, able to fold into tablet-style use, and it's still offered in five colorways. The Core Series 3 Mainboard and the new fingerprint reader and backlit input cover are also backward compatible with the original Laptop 12 chassis, according to Framework, which means existing owners could in theory upgrade individual components rather than buying a whole new unit.
Linux support: Fedora 44 KDE Plasma
For the first time, Framework is offering a pre-built Laptop 12 configuration with Fedora Linux loaded out of the box — specifically Fedora 44 with the KDE Plasma desktop. Framework notes that taking advantage of the Core Series 3 processors and the new BE213 Wi-Fi module requires a distribution running kernel 7.1 or newer, and that support for the integrated fingerprint reader (via libfprint) is already in place. Framework maintains a dedicated Linux compatibility page for the Laptop 12 for buyers running other distributions on the DIY Edition. Readers weighing a Linux laptop against other options in the broader memory and storage picture may also find our RAM guide for 2026 useful when deciding how much DDR5 to configure.
How the Core Series 3 refresh compares
Framework positions the Core Series 3 Laptop 12 as sharing core silicon with its pricier Laptop 13 Pro — the same Cougar Cove, Darkmont, and Xe3 building blocks, on the same 18A process — in a smaller, more affordable, repairable package. That's a different value proposition than most convertible ultrabooks, which typically can't be opened up for a RAM, storage, or Wi-Fi module swap at all. For context on how integrated graphics platforms like Xe3 stack up against dedicated GPU options, see our coverage of Intel's D-series GPUs, and for shoppers comparing this convertible against larger premium laptops, our Surface Laptop Ultra vs. MacBook Pro M5 Max comparison covers a different segment of the market entirely.
Should you buy it now?
Anyone who already placed a Batch 1 pre-order should be receiving their unit this month, since Framework's own configurator lists Batch 1 as sold out across all three processor tiers and shipping in October. For new buyers, the decision mostly comes down to which pre-built or DIY path fits: the $699 Fedora pre-built Core 5/Core 7 units bundle in the backlit keyboard and fingerprint reader standard, while DIY Edition buyers configure their own RAM, storage, and extras on top of the $549/$779/$999 system tiers and can add the backlit keyboard separately. Framework's claimed ~70% battery-life improvement on 4K streaming is a meaningful upgrade if all-day video playback matters, though it's worth remembering that figure comes from Framework's own early testing with one specific configuration and workload, not a broad independent benchmark suite.
Existing Laptop 12 owners have a narrower, cheaper option: because Framework says the new mainboard, fingerprint reader, and backlit input cover are backward compatible with the original chassis, an owner who just wants the newer silicon and the fingerprint reader can buy those parts individually instead of a complete new laptop. That mirrors how Framework has handled processor refreshes on its other laptop lines, where the outer shell and display typically outlast two or three generations of mainboard.
What happens next
Framework has not published a fixed cadence for Batch 2 or later shipments beyond saying Batch 1 ships in October 2026; buyers configuring a new order today should check the live batch and shipping estimate shown on Framework's DIY configurator or the pre-built ordering flow, since those dates can move as production ramps. Framework also left its Core Series 3 Mainboard — detailed on its own product page — available as a standalone upgrade for existing Laptop 12 owners, so current owners don't necessarily need to buy a whole new laptop to get the new processor, fingerprint reader, or backlit keyboard. Expect Framework to keep publishing updated Linux compatibility notes as more distributions catch up to the kernel 7.1 requirement for the new wireless module.
Frequently asked questions
When did Framework announce the Core Series 3 Laptop 12?
Framework announced the refreshed Framework Laptop 12 on August 18, 2026, and opened pre-orders the same day, according to its own announcement blog post.
When does the Framework Laptop 12 Core Series 3 ship?
Framework says "Batch 1" of pre-orders is shipping in October 2026. Framework's own DIY configurator currently shows Batch 1 as sold out for every Core Series 3 processor tier, with later batches available for new orders.
How much does the Framework Laptop 12 Core Series 3 cost?
The pre-built version with Fedora 44 KDE Plasma starts at $699, according to Framework's announcement. Framework's own DIY Edition configurator for this model lists system pricing starting at $549 for the Core 3 304 tier, $779 for Core 5 320, and $999 for Core 7 350, before RAM, storage, or Expansion Cards.
Is the Framework Laptop 12 DIY Edition $499 or $549?
Framework's blog post mentions a $499 DIY figure, but it's attached to the original, pre-refresh Laptop 12 as a general affordability reference, not stated explicitly as the Core Series 3 price. Framework's own Core Series 3 DIY configurator lists system pricing starting at $549 instead.
What processors does the new Framework Laptop 12 use?
It uses Intel Core Series 3 chips in Core 3, Core 5, and, for the first time, Core 7 tiers, built with Cougar Cove P-cores, Darkmont LP-E cores, Xe3 graphics, and Intel's 18A process, per Framework.
How much longer does the battery last on the new model?
Framework says its own early testing with the Core 5 320 configuration showed roughly a 70% increase in Netflix 4K streaming battery life compared with the original Laptop 12's Core i5-1334U.
Sources
- Framework Blog: Framework Laptop 12, Now With Core Series 3frame.work
- Framework: Laptop 12 product pageframe.work
- Framework: Laptop 12 DIY Edition (Core Series 3) configuratorframe.work
- Framework: Laptop 12 Mainboard (Core Series 3) product pageframe.work
- Framework: Laptop 12 Linux compatibilityframe.work
Mara Lindqvist edits the hardware desk. She covers graphics cards, processors, memory and storage, the foundries and chip designers behind them, and what the numbers on a spec sheet mean for people choosing a PC. Specifications in her stories come from manufacturer spec pages and datasheets.


