Hardware/Comparison

Apple A20 Pro vs Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6: Full Spec Comparison

Apple's A20 Pro and Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 both debuted in September 2026 on cutting-edge 2nm processes. Here is how their CPU, GPU, NPU, and memory specs compare on paper.

Official Qualcomm product image of the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 and Snapdragon 8 Elite Extreme Gen 6 mobile platforms
Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 and Snapdragon 8 Elite Extreme Gen 6 mobile platforms. Image: Qualcomm.
Quick answer: Apple's A20 Pro (iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro Max, iPhone Duo) and Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 (Android flagships, late 2026) are both built on 2nm-class process nodes and both landed in September 2026. On paper, the A20 Pro leans on Apple's usual single-threaded CPU strength and a 50% memory-bandwidth jump, while the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 counters with a custom Oryon CPU clocked up to 5GHz, a reengineered Hexagon NPU, and a faster integrated 5G modem. Neither company has published a shared, apples-to-apples benchmark, so anyone telling you one chip definitively "wins" is extrapolating from third-party leaks, not official data.

Apple and Qualcomm announced their newest flagship mobile chips within two weeks of each other in September 2026 — Apple's A20 Pro at the iPhone 18 Pro launch event, and Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 at Snapdragon Summit in Maui. Both are the first mainstream smartphone chips built on a 2-nanometer-class process, and both lean hard into on-device AI messaging. But the two companies measure and disclose performance very differently, which makes a clean comparison harder than the headlines suggest.

This piece pulls only from Apple's official A20 Pro announcement, Apple's published iPhone 18 Pro technical specifications, Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 product page, and Qualcomm's Snapdragon Summit 2026 press release for manufacturer claims, and labels anything sourced from leaks, teardown sites, or early benchmark listings as exactly that.

Process node: two different 2nm chips

Apple says the A20 Pro is built on "the latest 2-nanometer process technology," which industry reporting ties to TSMC's N2 node — the same process family we unpack in more depth in our N2 explainer. Qualcomm's own Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 product page does not state a process node figure, but Qualcomm has told press and partners the chip is also fabricated on a 2nm-class node — treat that specific node claim as credibly reported rather than a line item on Qualcomm's public spec sheet, since the company's product page omits it.

Both chips therefore sit in the same generational process tier, which matters because most of the efficiency and clock-speed gains either company claims come from the node shrink as much as from architecture work.

CPU architecture and clock speeds

Apple's A20 Pro uses a 6-core CPU that Apple describes as having integrated Neural Accelerators per core and calls "faster than the competition" — without naming a specific competitor or publishing a clock speed or IPC figure. Apple's design has historically paired a small number of high-performance "Supercores" with efficiency cores; Apple did not break out the exact core split for A20 Pro in its press release.

Qualcomm discloses more of its clock-speed story: the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 uses a custom-built Qualcomm Oryon CPU with "2 prime cores up to 5GHz," by Qualcomm's own listed specification. Qualcomm's page does not publish the full core count or the clock speeds of the remaining cores on the standard Gen 6 (as distinct from the higher-tier Snapdragon 8 Elite Extreme Gen 6). Pre-launch leaks and early teardown coverage have described an octa-core Oryon layout with additional performance cores clocked lower than the 5GHz prime pair, but that full breakdown has not appeared on Qualcomm's own product page, so treat it as third-party reporting, not a confirmed Qualcomm spec.

Both chips remain monolithic designs rather than chiplet-based ones, even as the rest of the industry increasingly experiments with tiled architectures.

GPU: rendering and ray tracing claims

Apple states the A20 Pro's 7-core GPU is "up to 40 percent faster than A19 Pro," which Apple frames as a "significant upgrade for graphics rendering." No absolute benchmark score or third-party test accompanies that figure in Apple's release.

Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 pairs its Oryon CPU with a Qualcomm Adreno GPU supporting OpenCL 3.0 FP, OpenGL ES 3.2, and Vulkan 1.4, plus real-time hardware-accelerated ray tracing with Lumen Global Illumination and Nanite Virtualized Geometry support — features aimed squarely at Unreal Engine-class mobile gaming. Qualcomm's publicly listed figures for GPU performance gains apply to the higher-tier Snapdragon 8 Elite Extreme Gen 6 (roughly a 44% GPU uplift per Qualcomm's Extreme product materials), not the standard Gen 6 covered here, and the standard chip's own percentage gain over the prior Snapdragon 8 Elite is not broken out on Qualcomm's Gen 6 page.

Neural Engine and NPU: on-device AI

Apple's A20 Pro includes what Apple calls a "Dual 16-core Neural Engine" totaling "32 total cores for double the AI processing power of A19 Pro." Apple accelerates on-device AI models and computational photography through this block but does not publish a TOPS (trillion operations per second) figure or any third-party AI benchmark result alongside the claim.

Qualcomm describes a "reengineered Qualcomm Hexagon NPU" on the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6, built around what it calls a "Fused AI Accelerator architecture," Hexagon Direct Link, Micro Tile Inferencing, and a "New Element Accelerator." Qualcomm also lists a separate low-power Sensing Hub with dual Micro NPUs for always-on, low-power inference such as voice and context sensing. As with the GPU, Qualcomm's own page does not publish a single headline TOPS number or percentage improvement for the standard Gen 6's NPU; a commonly cited "+14% NPU performance" figure for the standard chip comes from secondary event coverage of Snapdragon Summit, not from Qualcomm's own product page, so we label it a third-party/event-report figure rather than a confirmed Qualcomm claim.

Memory bandwidth and packaging

Apple claims "50 percent more memory bandwidth than A19 Pro" for the A20 Pro, attributing part of the gain to new packaging that places the chip die next to memory, physically out of the chip's main thermal path, which in turn lets the A20 Pro attach directly to a redesigned vapor chamber with "three times more surface area than the previous generation on iPhone 17 Pro." Apple says this cooling change "enables up to a 40 percent gain" in sustained performance versus iPhone 17 Pro.

Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 product page does not list a memory type or bandwidth figure for the standard chip. Early supply-chain and reviewer leaks have suggested LPDDR5X memory for the standard Gen 6 (with LPDDR6 reserved for the higher Extreme tier in some reports, though this has been inconsistently reported), but none of that has been confirmed on Qualcomm's own spec sheet as of this writing, so treat any specific memory bandwidth number you see quoted online as a leak, not a Qualcomm-published fact.

SpecApple A20 ProSnapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6
AnnouncedSeptember 9, 2026 (iPhone 18 Pro event)September 2026 (Snapdragon Summit, Maui)
Process node2nm-class (Apple-stated "2-nanometer process technology")Reported 2nm-class (not stated on Qualcomm's product page)
CPU6-core CPU with integrated Neural Accelerators (Apple states "faster than the competition"; full core split undisclosed)Custom Oryon CPU; 2 prime cores up to 5GHz (Qualcomm-confirmed); remaining core count/clocks not published for standard Gen 6
GPU7-core GPU, Apple claims up to 40% faster than A19 ProAdreno GPU with hardware ray tracing (Lumen GI, Nanite); standard-tier gain vs. prior gen not published by Qualcomm
AI / NPUDual 16-core Neural Engine, 32 total cores, Apple claims 2x the AI processing power of A19 ProReengineered Hexagon NPU with Fused AI Accelerator architecture and Sensing Hub; no TOPS figure published
Memory bandwidthApple claims 50% more than A19 ProNot published for standard Gen 6 (leaks suggest LPDDR5X)
Modem / connectivityNot detailed in Apple's press releaseSnapdragon X105 5G Modem-RF (14.8Gbps peak download), FastConnect 8800 Wi-Fi (11.65Gbps peak)
ThermalsNew vapor chamber, 3x surface area vs. iPhone 17 Pro; up to 40% sustained-performance gain claimedNot detailed on Qualcomm's product page

Early benchmark claims: what's verified vs. what isn't

Neither Apple nor Qualcomm has published a joint or third-party-audited benchmark comparing these two chips directly. What exists publicly falls into two buckets:

  • Manufacturer-stated, relative-only claims — the percentage figures above (Apple's "40% faster GPU," "50% more bandwidth," "2x AI processing"; Qualcomm's 5GHz prime-core clock) are company-published, but they are comparisons to each company's own prior-generation chip, not to the competitor's chip, and neither company gives an absolute score.
  • Third-party benchmark listings — sites that track Geekbench and AnTuTu database entries have published early single-core, multi-core, and GPU scores attributed to A20 Pro and Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6-equipped devices. These listings are unverified by Apple or Qualcomm, can reflect pre-release firmware or thermal throttling differences between phone models, and should be read as directional leaks rather than confirmed results. If you see a specific AnTuTu or Geekbench number quoted as fact for either chip, check whether the source names the test device, firmware build, and date — most early listings omit at least one of those.

Given that caveat, the most defensible statement right now is architectural, not numerical: Apple is claiming a large sequential jump in its own Neural Engine throughput and memory bandwidth, while Qualcomm is emphasizing a very high single/dual-core CPU clock speed and a reworked NPU pipeline. Which matters more depends heavily on the workload — sustained GPU-bound gaming, bursty single-core app launches, or background on-device AI inference all stress these chips differently.

Which phones get each chip

The A20 Pro ships in the iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro Max, and the new iPhone Duo form factor, all announced alongside the chip. The Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 (as distinct from the higher-tier Extreme Gen 6) is expected across a wider range of 2026-2027 Android flagships; for the fuller device rollout timeline, see our dedicated Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 release guide.

Which one should actually matter to you

If you're choosing a phone rather than benchmarking a chip in the abstract, the honest framing is: Apple's and Qualcomm's own claims both point to meaningful generational gains on 2nm, but they're not measured the same way, so you can't stack Apple's "50% more bandwidth" directly against Qualcomm's "5GHz prime core" and declare a winner. If sustained gaming performance and ray-traced mobile titles matter most to you, Qualcomm's Adreno ray-tracing feature set and Snapdragon Summit gaming push are the more directly relevant claims. If computational photography and on-device generative AI features are the priority, Apple's doubled Neural Engine throughput claim is the more relevant one. Either way, wait for independently verified, same-methodology benchmark runs (not manufacturer press decks) before treating any single number as decisive — our comparisons of other recent chip pairs, like the Snapdragon X2 Elite vs. Apple M5 laptop chip comparison, follow the same pattern of early claims later being refined by independent testing.

What's next

Expect three things over the coming months: first, independent lab benchmark runs (not just leaked database entries) once review units of A20 Pro and Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 phones are broadly available; second, Qualcomm likely publishing a fuller spec sheet for the standard Gen 6 (core counts, memory type, and NPU TOPS) as more OEM devices launch; and third, real-world battery life and sustained-performance comparisons, which matter more to most buyers than peak benchmark scores. We'll update this comparison as official numbers are published by either company.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Apple A20 Pro or Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 faster?

Neither company has published a shared benchmark, so there is no verified head-to-head score. Apple claims up to 40% faster GPU performance and double the AI processing of its own prior chip (A19 Pro); Qualcomm confirms a 5GHz prime-core clock speed on its Oryon CPU. Independent, same-methodology testing of retail devices has not been published yet.

What process node are the A20 Pro and Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 built on?

Apple states the A20 Pro uses "the latest 2-nanometer process technology." Qualcomm has not listed a specific node figure on its own Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 product page, though it has been credibly reported elsewhere as a 2nm-class chip.

Which phones use the Apple A20 Pro?

The A20 Pro powers the iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro Max, and the new iPhone Duo, all announced by Apple in September 2026.

Which phones use the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6?

It is expected across a range of 2026-2027 Android flagships, separate from devices that use the higher-tier Snapdragon 8 Elite Extreme Gen 6. Check our dedicated Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 release guide for the device rollout as it is confirmed.

Does the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 support hardware ray tracing?

Yes. Qualcomm's product page lists real-time hardware-accelerated ray tracing with Lumen Global Illumination and Nanite Virtualized Geometry support on its Adreno GPU.

Are the AnTuTu and Geekbench scores circulating online for these chips official?

No. Those figures come from third-party benchmark-tracking sites and leaked device listings, not from Apple or Qualcomm directly, and should be treated as unverified until confirmed by the companies or by independent reviewers testing retail hardware.

Sources

More on Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 →A20 ProSnapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6AppleQualcommsmartphone chips
Mara Lindqvist
Written byMara Lindqvist

Mara Lindqvist edits the hardware desk. She covers graphics cards, processors, memory and storage, the foundries and chip designers behind them, and what the numbers on a spec sheet mean for people choosing a PC. Specifications in her stories come from manufacturer spec pages and datasheets.

More from Hardware

See all