Gemini 4 Argon: Release Date, Price and What's New in the Gemini App
Gemini 4 Argon rolled out in the Gemini app on October 13, 2026, for Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers. Here's what's new and how to access it.

Gemini 4 Argon, Google's latest flagship AI model, became generally available inside the consumer Gemini app on October 13, 2026. The rollout is limited to people who pay for Google AI Pro or Google AI Ultra; there is no free-tier access at launch. Along with the new model, Google shipped more direct answers with less hedging, stronger coding help through Google Antigravity's agentic coding interface (now built into the Gemini macOS app), a new "Tasks" toggle for background and agentic work, and connections to more than 40 third-party apps including Instacart, OpenTable, Adobe and Shopify.
- Rolled out: October 13, 2026, inside the Gemini app
- Who gets it: Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra subscribers only
- Biggest changes: More direct answers, major coding upgrades, a new Tasks mode, 40+ app integrations
- Coding interface: Google Antigravity's agentic coding tools, now inside the Gemini macOS app
- Price: No new charge — included with existing Pro/Ultra subscriptions; see Google's plans page for current rates
What is Gemini 4 Argon?
Gemini 4 Argon is the newest model in Google's Gemini family, and it's the version that now powers the main Gemini consumer app for paying subscribers. Google describes Argon as bringing "frontier reasoning and improved performance across complex tasks" to the app, with the company's own stated goals centered on three things: answering more directly, writing and fixing code more capably, and taking on longer, more independent tasks without constant supervision.
Argon isn't a separate product — it's a model upgrade that slots into the Gemini app you already use on the web, on Android, on iOS and now more deeply on macOS. If you already have a Google AI Pro or Ultra subscription, Argon is simply what you're now talking to when you open Gemini. There's no new app to install and no separate "Argon" toggle to find in your account settings; the model swap happens behind the existing Gemini interface you already know.
That matters for how people are searching for this release. Terms like "gemini 4 argon," "gemini 4 argon price" and "gemini 4 argon benchmarks" are spiking because Argon is being discussed both as a model (something to evaluate against GPT-6 Astra or Claude Opus 5.5) and as a feature rollout (something tied to a specific subscription and a specific date). This piece focuses on the second framing — what actually changed in the app, who can use it, and how to get it — rather than republishing unverified benchmark charts.
Gemini 4 Argon release date: October 13, 2026
Google confirmed the general availability of Gemini 4 Argon in the Gemini app in a post on its official blog on October 13, 2026. The company's language was "starting today," meaning the rollout to eligible subscribers began that date rather than being staged over weeks. For most Pro and Ultra subscribers, Argon should already be the model answering chats, with no separate download or opt-in required beyond having an active qualifying subscription.
Who gets access to Gemini 4 Argon?
Access is restricted to paying subscribers. Per Google's announcement, Gemini 4 Argon — and the ability to assign Gemini background tasks — is available to Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra subscribers starting October 13, 2026. Google's post does not mention a free-tier rollout, a specific country rollout schedule, or an enterprise/Workspace timeline, so anyone outside the Pro/Ultra subscriber base should treat those as unconfirmed for now rather than assume parity with the consumer app.
| Plan | Gemini 4 Argon access | Tasks mode | Antigravity coding interface |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Pro | Yes, from Oct 13, 2026 | Yes | Yes (Gemini macOS app) |
| Google AI Ultra | Yes, from Oct 13, 2026 | Yes | Yes (Gemini macOS app) |
| Free Gemini app | Not stated by Google | Not stated by Google | Not stated by Google |
Google AI Pro vs. Google AI Ultra: what changes with Argon
Both subscription tiers get Gemini 4 Argon, but Google's own plans page shows the tiers aren't identical once Argon is involved. Google AI Pro includes 5 TB of storage across Gmail, Drive and Photos and roughly 4x the usage limits of a non-subscriber. Google AI Ultra starts at 20 TB of storage and scales up to 5x or 20x Pro's usage limits depending on the specific Ultra tier purchased. Critically, Ultra subscribers get higher-volume access to Gemini 4 Argon itself, plus higher-volume access to Argon inside the Antigravity coding interface, while Pro subscribers get comparatively tighter rate limits on the same features.
Ultra also unlocks things Pro doesn't touch at all: Gemini Agent, currently limited to the US in English, and Project Genie, an interactive world-creation tool Google states is "only available with a Google AI Ultra plan." Ultra subscribers additionally get a larger monthly allotment of Google Flow credits (10,000–25,000 versus Pro's 1,000) and more Google Cloud credit. None of this changes who can use Gemini 4 Argon — both tiers can — but it does mean Ultra subscribers should expect to bump into usage ceilings less often, particularly for coding-heavy Antigravity sessions.
| Feature | Google AI Pro | Google AI Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Storage (Gmail, Drive, Photos) | 5 TB | 20 TB+ |
| Gemini 4 Argon access | Included, standard limits | Included, higher limits |
| Antigravity coding access | Expanded agent rate limits | Higher Argon access inside Antigravity |
| Gemini Agent | Not included | Included (US, English only) |
| Project Genie | Not included | Included |
| Google Flow credits | 1,000/mo | 10,000–25,000/mo |
What's new in Gemini 4 Argon
Google's announcement frames the update around how Argon behaves in conversation, not just what it scores on tests. The company says Argon gives more direct answers, with less hedging, less repetition and fewer of the stock phrases that made earlier Gemini responses feel formulaic. For anyone who has found chatbot answers padded with caveats, that's the headline behavioral change.
The second change is about long-running work. When Argon is handling a task that takes a while, Google says it now shares progress updates more often, and that those updates are more useful — a small but practical fix for the common complaint that AI assistants go quiet mid-task and leave users unsure whether anything is happening.
Coding improvements and the Antigravity interface
Coding is the area Google highlighted most heavily. Argon brings what the company calls major coding improvements, and — notably for developers who already use the Gemini app rather than a separate IDE — it's now easier to move between a normal chat and a coding session using Google Antigravity's agentic coding interface. That interface is now built directly into the Gemini app on macOS, meaning you can start in conversation and drop into an agentic coding workflow without switching apps.
This is a different integration from the one covered in Google's developer tooling announcement about Gemini 4 Argon arriving inside GitHub Copilot, which is aimed at engineers already working in an IDE. The Gemini app's Antigravity integration is aimed at people working from the consumer app itself, with the agentic coding surface arriving alongside chat rather than replacing a separate development environment.
The new Tasks mode toggle
Argon introduces a toggle in the main Gemini chat window that switches between ordinary chat and a new "Tasks" mode. In Tasks mode, Gemini can keep working on an assignment while you're away from your computer, operating across your connected Google apps rather than staying confined to a single chat window. Google ties this capability to the same Pro/Ultra access tier as the rest of the Argon rollout — assigning Gemini tasks is explicitly called out as included for subscribers starting October 13, 2026.
In practice, this positions Gemini closer to an agentic assistant than a pure chatbot: instead of waiting for a reply in real time, you hand off a job, switch to Tasks mode, and check back once Gemini has made progress or finished.
40+ app integrations: Instacart, OpenTable, Adobe, Shopify and more
Alongside the model upgrade, Google says the Gemini app now connects to more than 40 third-party apps and services, letting Argon act on your behalf in places you already use. The apps Google named specifically in its announcement are:
- Instacart — for groceries
- OpenTable — for restaurant reservations
- Adobe — for creative work
- Shopify — for commerce tasks
Google did not publish the full list of all 40-plus integrated apps in this announcement, so the remaining partners beyond these four named examples aren't confirmed at this time. The direction, though, is clear: Google is positioning Gemini 4 Argon less as a standalone chatbot and more as an orchestrator that can reach into the apps where your actual errands and work happen.
How to access Gemini 4 Argon
If you already have a qualifying subscription, there's no separate setup required. To use Gemini 4 Argon:
- Confirm you have an active Google AI Pro or Google AI Ultra subscription.
- Open the Gemini app on web, Android, iOS, or macOS — your existing sign-in applies.
- Start a new chat; eligible subscribers are served Argon automatically as of October 13, 2026.
- Look for the new chat/Tasks toggle in the main chat window to switch into background, agentic-style task mode.
- On a Mac, update the Gemini macOS app to access the Antigravity-powered agentic coding interface alongside chat.
- To connect services like Instacart, OpenTable, Adobe or Shopify, check the Gemini app's app-connections or integrations settings and link your accounts individually.
If you're on the free tier of the Gemini app, Google's announcement does not state that Argon is available to you yet; the company's own language ties the rollout specifically to paid Pro and Ultra subscribers.
How Gemini 4 Argon fits the competitive picture
Argon arrives into a market where OpenAI and Anthropic have also been shipping frontier updates in 2026, which is part of why searches for "Gemini 4 Argon vs Opus 5.5" and similar comparisons have picked up. OpenAI's own release, covered in our look at GPT-6.1 Sol vs. Astra, has shaped a lot of that comparison chatter, as has Google's own earlier rollout of Gemini-based features in the ChatGPT-competing space covered in our ChatGPT GPT-6 release coverage. Google's own announcement focuses on describing Argon's behavior and features rather than publishing head-to-head benchmark tables in this particular post, and we have not independently verified third-party or cross-lab benchmark comparisons at the time of publication. Readers specifically looking for competitor comparisons should treat any benchmark figures circulating online as unconfirmed unless they can be traced back to Google's own technical documentation or a named, reproducible test.
What is confirmed is the practical framing Google is using: faster, more direct responses; an agentic coding interface shared with Antigravity; a dedicated mode for hands-off task execution; and a growing web of app integrations. Those are the terms Google wants Argon judged on, at least for the Gemini app audience.
What's next for Gemini 4 Argon
Expect Google to keep expanding the list of connected apps beyond the four named at launch, and to extend the Antigravity-powered coding interface to more platforms beyond macOS over time, given that Antigravity itself already exists as a standalone developer product. It's also worth watching whether Tasks mode and Argon access eventually extend down to the free tier of the Gemini app, or whether Google keeps the model as a subscriber incentive for Pro and Ultra. For now, the clearest path to trying Gemini 4 Argon is a Google AI Pro or Ultra subscription and the latest version of the Gemini app.
Frequently asked questions
See the FAQ section below for quick answers on release date, price and access.
Frequently asked questions
What is Gemini 4 Argon?
Gemini 4 Argon is Google's newest Gemini model, now powering the consumer Gemini app. Google says it delivers frontier-level reasoning, more direct answers with less hedging, major coding improvements and better handling of long, independent tasks.
When did Gemini 4 Argon come out?
Gemini 4 Argon became generally available in the Gemini app on October 13, 2026, according to Google's official announcement.
How much does Gemini 4 Argon cost?
There's no separate charge for Gemini 4 Argon itself. It's included with an existing Google AI Pro or Google AI Ultra subscription; check Google's plans page for current subscription rates.
Is Gemini 4 Argon free to use?
No. Google's announcement ties Gemini 4 Argon access specifically to paying Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra subscribers; a free-tier rollout was not announced.
What's new in Gemini 4 Argon compared to earlier Gemini models?
Google highlights more direct, less hedged answers; major coding upgrades via Google Antigravity's agentic coding interface, now in the Gemini macOS app; a new Tasks mode toggle for background, agentic work; and connections to more than 40 apps, including Instacart, OpenTable, Adobe and Shopify.
How does Gemini 4 Argon compare to GPT-6 Astra or Claude Opus 5.5?
Google's availability announcement doesn't publish head-to-head benchmark tables against rival models, and independent, verified comparisons were not available at publication time, so specific benchmark claims circulating online should be treated with caution.
Sources
- Google: Gemini 4 Argon availability announcementblog.google
- Google: Google AI Pro and Ultra plansone.google.com
- Google Antigravity (official site)antigravity.google
- Wikipedia: Gemini (chatbot)en.wikipedia.org
Theo Park runs the AI desk at Pandromeda. He follows model launches from the frontier labs and the open-weight community, tracks the assistants and developer tools built on them, and explains what each release changes on pricing, capability and safety. His reporting leans on primary sources: model cards, technical reports, API documentation and the companies' own announcements.


