Galaxy Z TriFold vs Huawei Mate XT: Specs, Price and Which to Buy
Samsung and Huawei both make a phone that folds twice. Here is how their prices, screens, cameras and availability actually compare, using only official specs.

Samsung's Galaxy Z TriFold and Huawei's Mate XT Ultimate Design are the only two phones on the market that fold twice into a tablet-sized slab, and they solve the problem in opposite ways. The short version: the Galaxy Z TriFold is the only one of the two officially sold in the United States, starting at $2,899 for a single 512GB, Crafted Black configuration, with a Snapdragon 8 Elite chip and a 200MP main camera. The Mate XT Ultimate Design unfolds to a larger 10.2-inch screen and charges faster, but it runs Huawei's own EMUI software without Google services and, as of this writing, is not sold through official Huawei channels in the US. If you need a US warranty, Google apps, and Samsung's software support, the Z TriFold is the only real option. If you can buy and use a Huawei phone where you live and want the biggest unfolded screen, the Mate XT Ultimate Design is the more ambitious piece of hardware.
Quick take
- Galaxy Z TriFold: $2,899 (512GB, Crafted Black), Snapdragon 8 Elite, 10-inch main screen, 200MP camera, sold in the US, Korea, China, Taiwan, Singapore and the UAE.
- Mate XT Ultimate Design: price not listed on Huawei's current spec page (launched in China from roughly 19,999 yuan, about $2,800); 10.2-inch unfolded screen, 16GB RAM, 512GB or 1TB storage, EMUI 14.2 with no Google Mobile Services; not officially sold in the US.
- Pick the Z TriFold if you live in the US, want Google apps and Samsung's longer software update track record.
- Pick the Mate XT Ultimate Design only if you can legally import or buy it in a market where Huawei sells it, and you can live without the Play Store.
Price and availability: this is where it gets decided for most buyers
Before comparing cameras or chipsets, the buying decision for these two phones mostly comes down to where you live. Samsung confirmed through its own newsroom that the Galaxy Z TriFold went on sale throughout the US on January 30, 2026, through Samsung.com and Samsung Experience Stores, starting at $2,899 for the single 512GB configuration in Crafted Black. Samsung's global rollout also covers Korea (where it launched first, in December 2025), plus China, Taiwan, Singapore and the UAE.
Huawei's Mate XT Ultimate Design has no such US presence. Huawei's own global specifications page lists 16GB of RAM with 512GB or 1TB of storage, in Red or Black, but does not publish a price, and the page's own footnote warns that "some features and specifications may vary across markets." At its original 2024 China debut, Huawei priced the Mate XT Ultimate Design from about 19,999 yuan (roughly $2,800) for the entry tier up to 23,999 yuan (about $3,370) for 1TB, according to launch coverage cited on its Wikipedia entry — Huawei's current spec pages don't restate those figures, so treat them as historical rather than today's price. The phone has since reached a handful of markets in Asia and the Middle East through Huawei's own stores and regional partners, but Huawei has not listed it for sale in the US, UK or most of Europe. Samsung, by contrast, documents the Z TriFold's full feature set and durability testing on its own global newsroom launch page, and sells the 512GB Crafted Black unit directly from its US product page.
Design: one phone folds in, the other folds flat
The two companies took genuinely different engineering paths to a tri-fold phone. Samsung's Galaxy Z TriFold uses two hinges that both fold inward, so the 10-inch main display is protected on both sides when the phone is closed, and a separate 6.5-inch screen sits on the outer cover for everyday use. Samsung says the main screen uses Corning Gorilla Glass Ceramic 2, the frame is "Advanced Armor Aluminum," and the hinge housing is titanium. Folded, the phone is 12.9mm thick; unfolded, Samsung says it tapers to about 3.9mm at its thinnest point.
Huawei's Mate XT Ultimate Design folds the opposite way on one hinge and flat on the other, so the phone can sit as a 6.4-inch single-screen phone, a 7.9-inch "dual" shape, or unfold completely into a 10.2-inch slab with no second exterior screen. Huawei's own spec sheet lists a folded depth of 12.8mm, narrowing to about 3.6mm per panel when fully unfolded, and a weight of roughly 298g (306g with the included screen protector) — lighter than most reports put the Z TriFold, though Samsung's own site doesn't publish an official weight figure for comparison.
Foldable hinges are also where both companies' phones have run into real-world trouble. We've covered what early Galaxy Z TriFold owners have reported about screen problems after the phone's first weeks in the hands of buyers, and crease visibility and durability remain the open question for any triple-folding display, Samsung's or Huawei's.
Displays compared: three panels vs two
Samsung's approach gives you two separate displays: a 6.5-inch AMOLED cover screen rated for up to 120Hz and 2600 nits peak brightness for quick tasks, and a 10-inch (9.9-inch accounting for rounded corners) main screen at up to 120Hz and 1600 nits peak brightness for the full unfolded experience.
Huawei's Mate XT Ultimate Design instead treats the whole device as one continuous panel split into three usable states — 6.4-inch, 7.9-inch and 10.2-inch — built on one OLED sheet with resolutions of 2232×1008, 2232×2048 and 2232×3184 respectively, at 382 ppi, an adaptive refresh rate up to 90Hz, 1440Hz PWM dimming and 240Hz touch sampling. Huawei's single-panel design means there's no separate cover screen to switch to; the phone is simply smaller or larger depending on how many folds you unfold.
Chipset, software and everyday use
Samsung confirms the Galaxy Z TriFold runs on a Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite chip "specially optimized for Galaxy devices," paired with One UI 8 on Android 16, including Galaxy AI features and Gemini Live built in. Some Samsung DeX multitasking features require Android 16 specifically. Samsung's own full specifications page doesn't list a RAM figure, so we can't officially confirm that number here.
Huawei does not list a chipset on its own Mate XT Ultimate Design spec page at all — a gap that's become standard for Huawei's recent flagships, given US export restrictions on its chip supply. Secondary reporting, including the device's Wikipedia entry, points to Huawei's in-house Kirin 9010, but Huawei's own site leaves it officially unconfirmed. What Huawei does confirm is 16GB of RAM and EMUI 14.2, Huawei's own Android-based fork that ships without Google Mobile Services — meaning no Google Play Store, Gmail or Maps out of the box, a significant everyday-use tradeoff that doesn't apply to the Z TriFold. Samsung also has a well-documented track record of multi-year One UI updates across its Galaxy lineup, which the Z TriFold inherits.
Cameras compared
Samsung's official materials describe a triple rear camera system led by a 200MP main sensor, plus a 10MP selfie camera on the main screen with a 100-degree field of view; Samsung's own page doesn't break out the exact ultrawide and telephoto resolutions in the specs we could confirm, so we're flagging that gap rather than inventing numbers.
Huawei's spec page is more detailed: a 50MP main camera (f/1.4–4.0, OIS), a 12MP ultrawide (f/2.2), and a 12MP periscope telephoto (f/3.4, OIS) good for 5.5x optical and up to 50x digital zoom, plus an 8MP front camera (f/2.2). On paper, the Mate XT's telephoto reach is its clearest camera advantage; Samsung's camera flagships generally lean on resolution instead, a pattern that shows up again in our comparison of the Galaxy S26 Ultra's camera against the iPhone 17 Pro Max.
Battery and charging
Both phones use a similarly sized battery. Samsung lists the Galaxy Z TriFold's battery at 5,600mAh typical capacity (5,437mAh rated), good for up to 17 hours of video playback, and ships with a 45W power adapter. Huawei's Mate XT Ultimate Design carries a 5,600mAh typical (5,500mAh rated) battery with up to 66W wired HUAWEI SuperCharge and up to 50W wireless charging — though the wireless charging requires a separate charging stand or car charger sold on its own. On paper, Huawei's wired charging is meaningfully faster; Samsung hasn't published a comparable top charging speed for the Z TriFold beyond the bundled 45W adapter.
Full spec comparison
| Spec | Galaxy Z TriFold | Mate XT Ultimate Design |
|---|---|---|
| Unfolded display | 10 in. (9.9 in. w/ rounded corners), up to 120Hz, 1600 nits peak | 10.2 in., up to 90Hz, 1440Hz PWM dimming |
| Cover / mid display | 6.5 in. cover screen, up to 120Hz, 2600 nits peak | 6.4 in. (closed) / 7.9 in. (dual-fold) — same panel, no separate cover screen |
| Chipset | Snapdragon 8 Elite (for Galaxy) | Not disclosed by Huawei; widely reported as Kirin 9010 (unconfirmed officially) |
| RAM / storage | Not officially listed / 512GB (1TB reported, not confirmed on fetched spec pages) | 16GB RAM / 512GB or 1TB |
| Rear cameras | 200MP main + triple rear system (other lenses' MP not detailed in Samsung's specs) | 50MP main (OIS) + 12MP ultrawide + 12MP periscope telephoto, 5.5x optical/50x digital zoom |
| Front camera | 10MP, 100° field of view | 8MP, f/2.2 |
| Battery | 5,600mAh typical / 5,437mAh rated; 45W wired (adapter included) | 5,600mAh typical / 5,500mAh rated; 66W wired, 50W wireless (stand sold separately) |
| Durability | IP48 (fresh water to 1.5m/30 min, not dust-resistant); Gorilla Glass Ceramic 2; titanium hinge; rated for 200,000 fold cycles | IPX8 water resistance listed; dust rating listed as "Not supported" |
| Software | One UI 8 on Android 16, Galaxy AI, Gemini Live, Google Mobile Services | EMUI 14.2, no Google Mobile Services (no Play Store) |
| Thickness | 12.9mm folded / ~3.9mm unfolded (thinnest point) | 12.8mm folded / ~3.6mm per panel unfolded |
| Weight | Not published on Samsung's fetched spec pages | ~298g (306g with screen protector) |
| Color options | Crafted Black only | Red, Black |
| Price | $2,899 (512GB, US) | Not listed on current Huawei spec page; launched in China from ~19,999 yuan (~$2,800) |
| Where it's sold | US, South Korea, China, Taiwan, Singapore, UAE | China at launch; select Asia/Middle East markets since; not sold through official Huawei channels in the US |
Durability and the screen-crease question
Any phone that folds twice has twice the hinge mechanisms and twice the opportunity for a crease, dust ingress or screen damage to show up. Samsung is explicit that the Galaxy Z TriFold's IP48 rating only covers fresh water immersion up to 1.5 meters for 30 minutes and specifically does not cover dust or sand resistance — a meaningful caveat for a phone this expensive. Huawei's spec sheet for the Mate XT Ultimate Design lists "IPX8" for water but marks its dust rating as "Not supported," which in practice means neither phone should be treated as dust-proof despite the triple-digit price tags. If you're deciding between these two, it's worth reading through what we found when we looked at early Galaxy Z TriFold buyers' reports of screen issues before committing to either device, since both designs depend on a display surface that's inherently more fragile than a standard glass-covered phone.
Which one should you buy?
For nearly everyone reading this in the US, the decision is already made by availability: the Mate XT Ultimate Design isn't officially sold here, so the Galaxy Z TriFold is the only one of the two you can walk into a store (or go to Samsung.com) and buy with a US warranty, Google apps, and Samsung's typical multi-year software support attached. At $2,899 it's still a huge amount of money for a phone, but it undercuts the Mate XT Ultimate Design's original China launch pricing, which topped out above $3,300 for the 1TB model.
If you live somewhere Huawei actually sells the Mate XT Ultimate Design, the calculus changes. Its larger 10.2-inch unfolded screen, faster 66W wired charging, and longer optical zoom are genuine hardware advantages over Samsung's phone. The tradeoff is EMUI without Google Mobile Services, which for most people outside China and parts of the Huawei-friendly Middle East and Southeast Asian markets is a dealbreaker on its own, independent of specs. Neither phone is really a mainstream purchase — both sit in roughly the same price bracket as other ultra-premium foldables we've compared, including our look at the iPhone Duo against Samsung's more conventional Galaxy Z Fold8 — but if triple-folding is the format you specifically want, the Z TriFold is the only one of these two most readers can actually buy today.
What's next
Watch for three things over the next few months: whether Samsung expands the Galaxy Z TriFold beyond its current single 512GB/Crafted Black configuration, whether Huawei brings a Mate XT successor to more markets outside China, and how both phones hold up to real-world hinge and screen wear once more buyers have had units for six months or longer. We'll keep updating this comparison, and our existing coverage of the Z TriFold's early screen reports, as official specs, pricing or availability change.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Huawei Mate XT Ultimate Design sold in the US?
No. Huawei has not listed the Mate XT Ultimate Design for sale through official US channels. It launched in China and has since reached select markets in Asia and the Middle East through Huawei's own stores and regional partners, but the Galaxy Z TriFold is the only one of the two officially sold in the US.
How much does the Galaxy Z TriFold cost?
Samsung's own newsroom lists the Galaxy Z TriFold starting at $2,899 for the single available configuration: 512GB of storage in Crafted Black, sold through Samsung.com and Samsung Experience Stores in the US.
How much does the Huawei Mate XT Ultimate Design cost?
Huawei's current global spec page does not list a price. At its original 2024 China launch, Huawei priced it from about 19,999 yuan (roughly $2,800) up to 23,999 yuan (about $3,370) for the top storage tier, though those figures have not been reconfirmed on Huawei's current site.
Which phone has the bigger unfolded screen?
The Huawei Mate XT Ultimate Design unfolds to a 10.2-inch display, slightly larger than the Galaxy Z TriFold's 10-inch (9.9-inch accounting for rounded corners) main screen.
Does the Mate XT Ultimate Design have Google apps?
No. It runs Huawei's EMUI 14.2 without Google Mobile Services, so there is no built-in Google Play Store, Gmail or Maps. The Galaxy Z TriFold runs One UI 8 on Android 16 with full Google Mobile Services.
Which chip does each phone use?
Samsung confirms the Galaxy Z TriFold uses a Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite chip optimized for Galaxy devices. Huawei does not disclose a chipset on its official Mate XT Ultimate Design spec page; it is widely but unofficially reported to use Huawei's in-house Kirin 9010.
Sources
- Samsung Newsroom: Galaxy Z TriFold US availability and pricenews.samsung.com
- Samsung Newsroom: Introducing Galaxy Z TriFold (global launch)news.samsung.com
- Samsung.com: Galaxy Z TriFold specificationssamsung.com
- Samsung.com: Galaxy Z TriFold buy page (storage/color)samsung.com
- Huawei: Mate XT Ultimate Design official specificationsconsumer.huawei.com
- Wikipedia: Huawei Mate XTen.wikipedia.org
Nadia Osei covers mobile and consumer gadgets for Pandromeda: smartphones, tablets, smartwatches, earbuds and smart-home devices. She tracks launches, software updates and pricing across Apple, Google, Samsung and the rest, and builds comparisons from the manufacturers' published specifications.

